Ilias Ali is an Indian politician and is the ex-member for the Dalgaon constituency.

Ilias Ali (born 9 November 1959) is an Indian politician and is the ex-member for the Dalgaon constituency in the Assam Legislative Assembly. Ali is a member of the Indian National Congress and a former Parliamentary Secretary of State.

Ali was elected a member of the Darrang Zila Parishad at the 2002 Assam panchayat elections. He was first elected to the Assam Legislative Assembly at the 2006 elections from the Dalgaon constituency as an Independent, where he received 41,871 votes, 5,685 votes ahead of his nearest rival. He was re-elected at the 2011 elections, securing 62280 votes (44.31% of the total vote), and at the 2016 elections, where he polled 76,607 votes (42.48% of the total vote) winning by a 2,320 vote margin. He was appointed as Parliamentary Secretary for the Minister of Irrigation in the Tarun Gogoi led government.

Career and Political Life:

He is the sitting MLA of Dalgaon. He has won the Dalgaon seat thrice. He fought Assam Elections three times in 2006, 2011 and 2016. He is contesting for the fourth time. He is a Congress MLA. In the 2016 Assam Assembly election, he had defeated Mazibur Rahman of the AIUDF party with 2320 votes. In 2006 and 2011 he had won the election with 41871 and 62280 votes respectively. In 2006, he won the Election as the Independent candidate and from 2011 he joined the Indian National Congress party.

The Dalgaon Assembly constituency is included under the Mangaldoi Lok Sabha constituency and is part of the Mangaldoi district.

The total number of registered voters in the constituency is 1,97,112. The sitting MLA is Congress leader Ilias Ali.

Voter turnout in the previous election

The voter turnout in the 2016 election was 91.42 per cent. In the 2011 election, the turnout was 84.87 per cent.

Of the total number of voters, 1,01,506 are men and 95,606 are women.

Past election results and winners

The Congress MLA had won the 2016 election with 76,607 votes and had secured a vote share of 42.48 per cent. The runner-up was AIUDF’s Mazibur Rahman with 74,287 votes and a vote share of 41.20 per cent. The margin of victory was a mere 2,320 votes.

In 2011 too, Ali had won 62,280 votes over Rahman’s 58,616. The margin of victory in the 2011 Assembly election was a tad wider and stood at 3,664 votes.

The Dalgaon constituency is expected to go to the polls in April or May 2021, as part of the 2021 Assam Assembly election.

The Assam Assembly polls will be held to elect a total of 126 Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read

Shahid Chemical : An Independent Rapper, Lyricist & Video Editor from...

Shahid Chemical ( Born 27 FEB 2000 ) in Kashmir Srinagar, Better Known By His Stage Name CHEMICAL, Is An Independent Rapper , Song...





Maxtern Media Services

Our Top Rated Services


Social media management is the process of managing your online presence on social media platforms like Instagram, and Twitter by creating, publishing, and analyzing content you post.


SEO services are search engine optimization services intended to increase visibility and ultimately organic search traffic to websites. These are often provided by agencies or freelancers who are experts in all aspects of SEO.

Press Release

Our strong network of connections with journalists, writers, and editors at more than 300 major media outlets allows us to strategically get our clients featured.